I thought it would be a good time to introduce to my blog (and those who read it) some of my favorite food/health/junk food products.

            I have branched away from eating too many packaged things because I feel like it is better for me to eat as much ‘real’ food as possible. When I say ‘real’ food I just mean the basic things that come out of the earth and that animals provide (fruit, veggies, grains, bread, yogurt, eggs, legumes…and whatnot).

               With this all said there are some products out there that I do enjoy/endorse. I try to keep the processed food to a minimum, but hey a girl has to be allowed to have a few impulse buys at the grocery store.

Amazing Grass

This stuff is amazing (ha, hence the name). No, but seriously the first week I started adding a scoop of it to my smoothies I was amazed at the added energy and digestive health I was experiencing. Enough said, that might have been too much information for some people.  Their website says,

                “Our Chocolate Green SuperFood is a delicious chocolate drink powder to help you achieve your 5 to 9 daily servings of fruits and vegetables.

A full spectrum of alkalizing green superfoods, antioxidant rich fruits, and support herbs unite with organic Acai, Maca and Cacao to provide a powerful dose of whole food nutrition with a delicious dark chocolate taste. Complete with pre & probiotics and digestive enzymes to ensure rapid nutrient absorption and healthy digestion.”

I don’t drink this every day, but I sure feel good when I mix it into one of my big smoothies. I feel like I am drinking health (perhaps a slight exaggeration).

Naturally More

                I love naturally more peanut butter number one because it tastes good. There is nothing to compare to a big spoonful  of this mixed into my morning oatmeal. But another reason that it is so great is that it has flax seed and flax oil added to boost omega three levels and to add more fiber. This also contains wheat germ and egg whites, which I don’t even notice but hey why not. It comes in the style of natural peanut butter that you stir but it is different because it has the crunchy flaxseeds floating around in the mix as well. I highly recommend this if you are a PB fan!

Crofter’s Fruit Spreads

                I first found out about Crofters after reading through an Eat this, not that book. I checked it out at the store and have been a fan ever since. It costs a little more than welch’s or smuckers, but there is less sugar, and many varieties use all organic fruit. My current jar is the superfruit spread from North America and it is mixed with wild blueberries, cranberries, morello cherries, and red grapes. It is great!

Earth Balance

                Since starting Weight Watchers I have been afraid to eat fat. It’s one of the main themes of weight watchers to focus on eating low-fat. The plan has served me well, but, I still miss fat. That being said I ran across this earth balance natural ‘buttery’ spread. I was intrigued by the idea of once again having at least the flavor of butter in my life, so I tried it. It’s good. Not only that but it is also GMO free, and a good source of the “good fat” that I do need in my life.

Almond Breeze

                There are several varieties of this almond milk, but I stick with the original unsweetened (because I really just don’t like sweet tasting drinks). 1 cup is 40 calories, and it serves my purposes (mostly smoothies) very well. I switched from soy milk to almond milk not too long ago after reading some information about the importance of not getting too much soy in your diet. I thought the milk would be an easy sub. I am actually not at all against regular cow’s milk, but I actually like how milk alternatives last longer in the fridge!

Justin’s Nut Butters

                These packets of goodness saved my life when I was in my week long residency in the spring. Just eating one packet with some fruit and bread and almost enough for a whole meal. Not only that but Justin’s is delicious and organic. Who doesn’t love peanut (or almond) butter that you can just throw in your purse. I hear that Justin’s has recently come out with a chocolate flavored nut butter that I am dying to try.

Dr. Crackers.

                These things are good. I have been on a bit of a carb kick lately, and these wonderful crackers have been with me every step of the way. They are crunchy, covered in delicious seeds and nuts, and have a really great ingredient list along with being organic. As if it couldn’t get any better, just wait. They are actually located here in Dallas! Dr. Cracker, if you want to drive your delivery truck to my apartment and drop of some crackers, I would not complain. At all. I hear they have a hummus flavor. It sounds delicious.

Food Should Taste Good.

                That’s funny. I agree, it really sucks to eat food that doesn’t taste good. These people at FSTG (lets keep it simple). Make some great chips. I found a coupon on them a few weeks ago that happened to intersect with a deal Whole Foods had going on that resulted in me getting some discounted chips. I am so impressed with their minimal ingredients that I am going to list them for their sweet potato flavored chip:

  • Stone ground corn
  • Sunflower/sallflower oil
  • Sweet potato
  • Corn bran
  • Cane juice
  • Sea salt

That is it. And they taste amazing. They are not a health food however, so I have to watch my portions closely on these guys.

More to come when I venture to the grocery store again!

(And no mom, that was not dirt underneath my fingernail in one of the pictures above. My hands are stained (along with my fingernails) from decorating owl cupcakes for a baby shower. I will put up pictures soon!)